North Dakota drivers will now face a $100 fine for failing to control their vehicle, causing a crash, or committing a moving violation because of distraction. Driver distractions include, but are not limited to, activities such as eating, reading, and grooming. This new law will go into effect August 1st 2017.
- North Dakota Gov. Doug Burgum has signed into law legislation that imposes a $100 fine on drivers who are distracted while driving.
- The state vehicle code amendment broadens the state’s definition of distracted driving to include any extraneous activity.
- North Dakota law already prohibits the use of wireless communications devices to compose, read or send electronic messages while driving.
“The state vehicle code amendment broadens the state’s definition of distracted driving to include any extraneous activity — not just texting — that might impair the driver’s ability to operate the vehicle safely.”